Next HPM Exam


Hospice and Palliative Medicine

The field of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (HPM) is based on expanding the scientific knowledge about symptom control when a cure is not possible. The subspecialty of HPM was established in order to recognize excellence among physicians who are specialists in the care of seriously ill and dying patients.

The ABPMR offers subspecialty certification in HPM in order to enhance the quality of care available to individuals with life-limiting illnesses. Subspecialty certification in HPM has been offered by the ABPMR since 2008. Initial subspecialty certification examinations are administered every other year at Pearson Professional Centers nationwide. MOC examinations are administered yearly at Pearson Professional Centers nationwide.

Because HPM is recognized as an interdisciplinary specialty, the ABPMR cosponsors subspecialty certification in HPM along with the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and eight other specialty boards. This means that the ABPMR credentials and issues HPM subspecialty certificates for ABPMR diplomates, but the ABIM is responsible for examination development, administration, scoring, and analysis.

The Exam

  • 240 Questions
  • Four 2-hour sections
  • 3 breaks, up to 100 minutes split between all periods
  • 8 hours active testing + tutorial and breaks

Practice and Training Requirements

Before You Apply

Candidates who apply for subspecialty certification in HPM through the ABPMR must be ABPMR diplomates in good standing and must have a current, valid, and unrestricted license to practice medicine in at least one jurisdiction in the United States, its territories, or Canada.

In addition, applicants for the HPM Examination must satisfactorily complete 12 months of an ACGME–accredited fellowship in HPM and:

  • Documentation provided from the training program director verifies satisfactory clinical competence in hospice and palliative medicine
  • The training program occurred after completing residency and must be completed by the August 31 that precedes the examination date

What to Expect on Exam Day

After applying for the HPM Examination, it's time to start preparing.

Click the link below for exam resources and information on exam logistics from the American Board of Internal Medicine.

HPM Examination Information

Exam Dates & Fees

Application Deadlines & Fees

The next examination has not yet been scheduled. Please check back later for more information.

Exam Dates

The next examination has not yet been scheduled. Please check back later for more information.