February 27, 2018 - Board Director News

Welcome, Dr Johns

The ABPMR is pleased to announce the addition of Jeffery Johns, MD, to the board of directors.

Dr Johns received his medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine, then completed his residency and chief residency at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals at Virginia Commonwealth University. He is certified in PM&R and holds subspecialty certification in spinal cord injury medicine.

Dr Johns is the Medical Director at Vanderbilt Stallworth Rehabilitation Hospital (VSRH) in Nashville, Tennessee. In addition, Dr Johns serves as the Interim Chair of PM&R, Interim Brain Injury Program Medical Director, and Interim Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) Program Medical Director at Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr Johns' medical director roles correspond to active, direct clinical care and resident clinical supervision and education in the areas of SCI medicine and brain injury medicine, and his main clinical focus is spinal cord injury and acquired brain injury.

During his tenure as Brain Injury Program Medical Director, VSRH achieved initial Joint Commission Disease-Specific Care Certification in Traumatic Brain Injury Rehabilitation. Prior to his current role at Vanderbilt, Dr Johns served as Medical Director of the SCI Program and Associate Hospital Medical Director at Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital in Jacksonville, Florida, where he worked with private practice physicians in multiple specialties.

Since 2009, Dr Johns has been active with the Academy of Spinal Cord Injury Professionals (ASCIP), including serving on the Governance Board and as current president. In addition, he serves as the president of the Board of Directors of the American Paraplegia Society (APS) Section of ASCIP, as a member of the Reimbursement and Policy Review Committee for the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R), and he holds membership in other organizations dedicated to PM&R and spinal cord medicine.

Dr Johns' volunteer experience with the ABPMR is extensive, including serving as an oral examiner for the Part II Examination, an SCI Medicine item writer and senior reviewer, and as a member of the SCI Medicine Examination Committee.

Physician board directors of the ABPMR serve up to two 6-year terms, and Dr Johns begins his first term on August 1, 2018.

Related Stories