May 29, 2019 - Board Director News

Welcome, Dr Clinchot!

The ABPMR is pleased to announce the election of Daniel M Clinchot, MD, to its board of directors.

Dr Clinchot received his medical degree from the State University of New York – Syracuse, then completed his residency at The Ohio State University, where he also served as chief resident. He is certified in physical medicine and rehabilitation and electrodiagnostic medicine.

Dr Clinchot is the Vice Dean for Education at The Ohio State University (OSU) College of Medicine and Associate Vice President for Health Sciences Education for the Office of Health Sciences at OSU. He also serves as Professor with tenure in The OSU Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and as the Harry C. and Mary Elizabeth Powelson Professor of Medicine at The OSU College of Medicine. In addition, Dr Clinchot serves as Professor and Chair in The OSU Department of Biomedical Education & Anatomy.

Previously in his tenure at Ohio State, Dr Clinchot served as the PM&R residency program director; he was also Medical Director of Ohio State’s Clinical Skills, Education, and Assessment Center from 2003 to 2009. Since joining OSU faculty in 1992, Dr Clinchot has won six teaching awards and has served on the American Association of Medical Colleges MCAT Validity Committee.

Dr Clinchot has extensively published on traumatic brain injury and innovation in medical education; he regularly lectures and serves as an invited speaker on these subjects at professional conferences as well. Dr Clinchot played a central role in developing and solidifying OSU’s national reputation for curricular innovation, specifically in the development of the College of Medicine’s “Lead. Serve. Inspire” curriculum launched in 2012. He has received several awards, scholarships and honors over his career, including the Sir William Osler, MD Award from the OSU College of Medicine in 2015.

The ABPMR has enjoyed the generous volunteer efforts of Dr Clinchot for many years; he has served as an oral examiner for the Part II Examination and as an item writer for the Brain Injury Medicine Examination. Within the specialty, Dr Clinchot served as a member of the board of trustees of the Association of Academic Physiatrists (AAP) from 2007 – 2011.

Physician board directors of the ABPMR serve up to two 5-year terms, and Dr Clinchot begins his first term on August 1, 2019.

Related Stories