August 21, 2018 - CC

One Year Later, Diplomates Take Advantage of NCQA Option for MOC

Since last year’s announcement with the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) that highlighted the opportunity for ABPMR diplomates to earn maintenance of certification (MOC) Part IV credit for Patient-Centered Specialty Practice (PCSP) Recognition, NCQA reports that several physiatrists already are participating in the program.

The PCSP program aims to improve the care of patients by facilitating team-based care. There are six core concept areas, and each have criteria to complete for a PCSP to be recognized:

  1. Team-Based Care and Practice Organization
  2. Know and Manage Patients
  3. Patient-Centered Access and Continuity
  4. Care Management and Support
  5. Care Coordination and Care Transitions
  6. Performance Measures and Quality Improvement

NCQA has reported that establishing a PCSP can lead to improved quality of care, patient satisfaction, and operational efficiency, as well as an increase in staff engagement. Notably, in addition to credit for ABPMR MOC Part IV, physicians with a PCSP recognized by NCQA receive automatic credit under the Improvement Activities category in the MIPS Quality Payment Program through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

“Given the value of this program and its synergy with MOC Part IV and MIPS, we would love to see even more physiatrists applying for PCSP recognition,” says Carolyn Kinney MD, ABPMR Executive Director. “The robust recognition process means physicians and practices will find not just one, but many ways to improve the quality of their care over time.”

To learn more, visit the PCSP page on NCQA's website.